Database Help

Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me

Go Back   Codewalkers ForumsOther TechnologiesDatabase Help

Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 2.50 average. Display Modes

Unread Codewalkers Forums Sponsor:
Old December 1st, 2012, 08:55 PM
Codewalkers Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Posts: 1 Leopoldstotch User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 4 m 21 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Design - Relational Schema help!

Alright, I did most of the schema, but I would like someone else to edit it and make changes according to the business rules presented. I am a novice at this, so I feel like there are a lot of mistakes and I dont want to continue onto SQL till I have this right.

The company wishes to maintain data about employees. Data that it wishes to manage include SSN, name, home address, home telephone, date hired. pay to date, Fed FICA and VA withholding. There are three categories of employees: sales, management, and full time. Management employees have the unique attribute bonus percentage (based upon seniority) and sales employees have the unique attribute commission percentage. (Each sales personís commission per item is based upon seniority). Full time employees do not have any unique attributes and a given employee can belong to only one category of employee at a given time.

The company wishes to maintain data about customers. Data includes, customerís name, address, telephone number and email address.

Data about merchandise stored in the warehouse include the product ID, vendor name, vendor address, vendor telephone number, quantity on hand, description, color, unit price, and dimension.