Older Contests
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me
Go Back   Codewalkers ForumsPHP ContestsOlder Contests

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Codewalkers Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old July 14th, 2003, 02:58 PM
viper_x viper_x is offline
Codewalkers Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 17 viper_x User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via ICQ to viper_x Send a message via AIM to viper_x Send a message via Yahoo to viper_x
[Risk] Problem with mailing list? (for Matt)

I have recieved strange letter from contests-help@codewalkers.com. It says:




Hi! This is the ezmlm program. I'm managing the
contests@codewalkers.com mailing list.

I'm working for my owner, who can be reached
at contests-owner@codewalkers.com.


Messages to you from the contests mailing list seem to
have been bouncing. I've attached a copy of the first bounce
message I received.

If this message bounces too, I will send you a probe. If the probe
bounces,
I will remove your address from the contests mailing list,
without further notice.


I've kept a list of which messages from the contests mailing list have
bounced from your address.

Here are the message numbers:

27

--- Enclosed is a copy of the bounce message I received.

Return-Path: <>
Received: (qmail 77024 invoked for bounce); 2 Jul 2003 20:44:25 -0000
Date: 2 Jul 2003 20:44:25 -0000
From: MAILER-DAEMON@codewalkers.com
To: contests-return-27-@codewalkers.com
Subject: failure notice

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at codewalkers.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<andrei_nikolov@mail.bg>:
193.201.172.114 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 Service unavailable; Client host [198.78.66.214]
blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see
http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml?198.78.66.214
Giving up on 193.201.172.114.




If there is a problem, it is probably with my mail provider or this bl.spamcop.net... What shuold I do?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 14th, 2003, 04:23 PM
Matt Matt is offline
Contributing User
Codewalkers Specialist (4000 - 4499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,158 Matt User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level)Matt User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 10 m 20 sec
Reputation Power: 6
[Risk] RE: Problem with mailing list? (for Matt)

spamcop.net seems unavailable right now...I will deal with them when their web site is back up...


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 15th, 2003, 11:51 AM
Matt Matt is offline
Contributing User
Codewalkers Specialist (4000 - 4499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,158 Matt User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level)Matt User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 10 m 20 sec
Reputation Power: 6
[Risk] RE: Problem with mailing list? (for Matt)

Very strange....according to:

http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml?198.78.66.214

my IP is not blocked...it is interesting that on that page it says that spamcop should not be used in a production environment....

Could you forward that email to support@yourisp.com? See what they have to say?


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 16th, 2003, 04:29 PM
viper_x viper_x is offline
Codewalkers Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 17 viper_x User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via ICQ to viper_x Send a message via AIM to viper_x Send a message via Yahoo to viper_x
[Risk] RE: Problem with mailing list? (for Matt)

OK, I'll forward it... Now I'm recieving some messages from the mailing list, but I'm not sure I'm recieving all of them...

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 17th, 2003, 02:21 PM
viper_x viper_x is offline
Codewalkers Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 17 viper_x User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via ICQ to viper_x Send a message via AIM to viper_x Send a message via Yahoo to viper_x
[Risk] RE: Problem with mailing list? (for Matt)

Here is the replay from the support, with my, not so professional translation from Bulgarian to English



The IP has been definitely blocked at this time. Otherwise there is no way for us to get that URL... Here is another for the same IP:
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=198.78.66.214

Here is a table from there:
Listing history for past 30 days:
delisted: 29 June 2003 y. 00:25:02 +0300
listed: 27 June 2003 y. 19:45:04 +0300
delisted: 26 June 2003 y. 22:35:03 +0300
listed: 25 June 2003 y. 08:45:03 +0300
delisted: 24 June 2003 y. 23:50:08 +0300
listed: 24 June 2003 y. 23:10:04 +0300
delisted: 24 June 2003 y. 01:20:02 +0300
listed: 23 June 2003 y. 11:40:03 +0300
delisted: 23 June 2003 y. 07:45:12 +0300
listed: 23 June 2003 y. 06:30:02 +0300

This shows that it's not blocked now, but it has been blocked before.

> spamcop should not be used in a production environment....

This is writen on many of the software that is used not only by us, but from You too, belive me. spamcop works from years, though, and is more stable than many others, for which, this is not written anywhere.

----End of quotation


I've feeled I should show you this answer, just to be fair to either sides... Thanks you for the time you spend on this...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Codewalkers ForumsPHP ContestsOlder Contests > [Risk] Problem with mailing list? (for Matt)


Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump


Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 





© 2003-2008 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster 6 hosted by Hostway
Stay green...Green IT